The Australian Running Festival

This event has already taken place. Check back soon for an update.
Date: 3 February 2018
Location: Old Parliament House, King George Terrace, Canberra, ACT
Distance/s: 5km, 10km, 21km, 42km, 50km
Website: Visit website

The Australian Running FestivalA full weekend of running events including the Canberra Marathon are set to take place on Saturday 8 April and Sunday 9 April, 2017 as the Australian Running Festival and the iconic The Canberra Times Fun Run return to Canberra.

Join thousands of runners from around the country as serious competitors, joggers, wheelchair athletes, pram pushers and walkers take part in one of the festivals five events.

The Canberra Times Canberra Marathon is the weekend’s flagship event, taking place on Sunday 9th April. Australia’s oldest marathon will be celebrating its 42nd year in 2017.

For serious runners, the 50km ultra marathon offers a longer option and doubles as the 50k National Championships for the third year running.

For those that prefer a shorter distance the 5km and 10km races will both take place on Saturday 8th April.

All five courses will be a one-lap route, exploring the beautiful Canberra lakeside, starting and finishing at the main festival area near Old Parliament House.

No matter what your age or ability, rise to the challenge this autumn as Canberra comes alive for the Australian Running Festival. Entries are open now for both individuals and teams.


2017 - Marathon

Matthew Cox02:21:38
Samuel Gebremichael02:23:31
Bradley Croker02:24:09
Leah Fitzgerald02:58:41
Pippa Featherston02:59:14
Lindsay Barwick03:06:52
Jordan Gusman00:30:06
Tim Lefroy00:30:48
Martin Mashford00:31:46
Victoria Mitchell00:34:08
Marnie Ponton00:34:13
Leanne Pompeani00:35:00

2016 - Marathon

Rowan Walker02:28:43
Michael Ho02:29:16
Brendan Davies02:32:50
Ruth Wilson02:46:55
Pippa Featherston02:59:51
Kathie Dent03:00:58

2015 - Marathon

Rowan Walker02:26:27
Michael Chapman02:31:25
Andrew McGowan02:37:57
Fleur Flanery02:53:54
Hannah Oldroyd02:54:26
Rebecca Rosel02:56:17

2014 - Marathon

Samuel Woldeamanual Gebremichael02:21:38
David Criniti02:24:45
Rowan Walker02:26:40
Kirsten Molloy02:49:57
Rhiannon Snipe02:55:59
Hannah Walmsley02:57:04

2013 - Marathon

Rowan Walker02:24:23
Vladimir Shatrov02:25:22
Alex Matthews02:27:59
Magda Karimali-Poulos02:52:46
Annelore Vandierendonck03:01:57
Katrina Milne03:02:23

2012 - Marathon

Anthony Farrugia02:28:23
Matthew Fenech02:28:43
Sam Walker02:32:00
Magda Karimali-Poulos02:47:45
Clare Williams02:50:35
Sara Burgess02:54:44

2011 - Marathon

Rowan Walker02:24:14
Ash Watson02:24:50
Anthony Farrugia02:28:04
Magda Karimali-Poulos02:50:48
Melissa Norris02:57:37
Johanna Parsons02:58:19
Show all results


View Larger Map attempts to provide correct information for all events listed but occasionally contains incorrect details. Please check the event organiser's website to confirm details. If you find incorrect details on our website, please contact us.