Melbourne Marathon

Home / Running Calendar / VIC

DATE: 13 Oct 2024
TYPE: Running
LOCATION: Melbourne Cricket Ground, VIC
DISTANCE: 42.2km, 21.1km, 10km, 5.7km & 3km

The Melbourne Marathon is a running festival offering marathon, half marathon and shorter distance options for all levels of participants. In the late seventies and early 80s, most major cities decided to follow in the successful footsteps of Boston and host a marathon.

With milk drink Big M sponsoring it, Melbourne staged its first marathon in 1978 on a course that began in Frankston, headed up Nepean Highway and finished outside the Melbourne Town Hall. The first race director was Ted Paulin, a former star middle distance runner.

Over 2000 runners took part in the inaugural event with most catching a special early morning train to Frankston. The race quickly went through a boom period with more than 6000 entrants in 1983 – the year that Robert de Castella won the world marathon championship in Helsinki. But as with many events in the southern hemisphere, the race struggled through the 1990’s before a massive upsurge in interest in 2007.



2023 - Marathon (View full results)

Reece Edwards02:14:34
Ryan Gregson02:14:54
Liam Adams02:15:37
Gemma Maini02:35:25
Milly Clark02:41:27
Cassie Little02:43:15
Timothy Kiplagat Ronoh02:09:12
Cornelus Kibet Kiplagat02:10:24
Reece Edwards02:14:41
Beatrice Cheptoo02:27:58
Izzi Batt Doyle02:28:10
Yeneabeba Maru Ejigu02:28:54
Brett Robinson02:14:33
Thomas Do Canto02:14:41
Edward Goddard02:15:13
Milly Clark02:26:59
Eloise Wellings02:29:19
Marnie Ponton02:31:54
Isaac Birir02:16:31
William Chebon02:17:53
Reece Edwards02:19:00
Naomi Jepkogei Maiyo02:35:34
Nera Jareb02:36:42
Marnie Ponton02:37:21

2018 - Marathon (View full results)

Liam Adams02:15:13
Dominic Ondoro02:16:55
William Chebon C02:18:05
Sinead Diver02:25:19
Rochelle Rodgers02:47:05
Erchana Murray-Bartlett02:54:11

2017 - Marathon (View full results)

Isaac Birir02:14:08
John Langat02:14:27
Matthew Cox02:18:42
Celia Sullohern02:29:27
Belaynesh Shifera Yigezu02:38:47
Rochelle Rodgers02:43:50

2016 - Marathon (View full results)

Thomas Do Canto02:20:53
Jack Colreavy02:23:16
Matthew Cox02:24:04
Virginia Moloney02:34:27
Sinead Diver02:41:15
Victoria Beck02:46:02

2015 - Marathon (View full results)

Brad Milosevic02:16:00
Antony Ndungu Mugo02:18:39
Felix Kipkorir Kangogo02:19:22
Jessica Trengove02:27:45
Lydia O'Donnell02:39:01
Makda Harun Haji02:40:37

2014 - Marathon (View full results)

Dominic Pius Ondoro02:11:30
Tewelde Estifanos Hidru02:11:47
Abere Belay02:12:34
Nikki Chapple02:31:05
Sinead Diver02:34:15
Julia Degan02:43:52

Contact Details

WEBSITE: Visit Website

Found an error with these event details? Please let us know.

We attempt to ensure all details listed are correct at the time of publishing but note that some details may have changed since. Confirm details via event organiser website to be sure.