The Ironman World Championships at Kona never fail to deliver, and the 2015 Hawaiian Ironman saw joy and heartbreak for Aussie athletes.

In the pro fields, we saw how cruel the Big Island can be with reigning champion Mirinda Carfrae, Luke McKenzie and Paul Ambrose having to withdraw during the race. Liz Blatchford achieved a superb third place in the pro women, crossing the line in a swift 9:14:52 to step onto the podium. Jan Frodeno (GER) won the men’s championship in 8:14:40 while Daniela Ryf (CHE) won the women’s in a time of 8:57:57.

The Aussie age-groupers didn’t fail to impress, with three taking out their respective World Ironman Championships - Levi Maxwell (M25-29), Ben Bell (M40-44) and Griffiths Weste (M70-74).

World Ironman Champions
Levi Maxwell, M25-29, 08:53:40
Ben Bell, M40-44, 09:03:53
Griffiths Weste, M70-74, 13:06:17

2nd Place
Lauren Parker, F25-29, 10:07:43
Assad Attamimi, M40-44, 09:07:37
Bruce Higginbotham, M75-79, 15:55:17

3rd Place
Karlie Jennings, F18-24, 11:02:23
Michelle Boyes, F45-49, 10:40:58
Liz Blatchford, WPRO, 09:14:52

4th Place
Jody Gilchrist, F50-54, 11:23:37

5th Place
Phoebe Fear, F35-39, 10:25:55
Karla McKinlay, F65-59, 15:46:20
Nathan Shearer, M25-29, 09:18:02
Damien Angus, M40-44, 09:21:17
Matty Harris, M45-49, 09:34:35
Brett Stewart, M60-64, 11:18:52
Nathan Johnston, PC, 15:06:47

View the complete results at

* Results obtained from as of 11/10/15